Real Pigeons are about to fight crime in the US

I’m flapping my wings and cooing with happiness right now, because the Real Pigeons are about to land in the US.

The first book in the series – Real Pigeons Fight Crime – is being published in the US and Canada by Random House on January 7th 2020.

Real Pigeons Fight Crime book cover
Real Pigeons Fight Crime (Random House)

Real Pigeons Fight Crime follows a squad of pigeons – Rock, Tumbler, Frillback, Grandpouter and Homey – as they fight crime and keep the city safe.

As the blurb says:

Ever wonder why pigeons act so weird? Because they are secretly chasing bad guys and flying around saving your butt! This hilarious illustrated series is perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN.

What do REAL PIGEONS do? They fight crime, of course! Wait, what? You didn’t know your town is protected by a secret squad of crime-fighting feathered friends? Well, you are about to get schooled. REAL PIGEONS solve mysteries! REAL PIGEONS fight bad guys! And REAL PIGEONS won’t stop until your neighborhood is safe and the questions are all answered: Like, why have all the breadcrumbs disappeared? And which food truck smells the best?

As if this wasn’t already exciting enough, Kirkus has reviewed the book and called it a goofball farce:

“A goofball farce… this episodic volume offers two other cases for the crime-busting birdies, and young readers will make quick work of them all. Totally coo!” – Kirkus Review

There are three stories in a Real Pigeons book – and three mysteries for the pigeons to solve. I’ve written the stories, while the amazingly talented Ben Wood has done all the illustrations.

Ben and I work together closely to ensure every book in the Real Pigeons series features a rich mix of text and illustrations that are dependent on each other for the overall story to be told.

Image of the Real Pigeons with Ben Wood and Andrew McDonald.
Ben Wood, Andrew McDonald and the Real Pigeons squad.

Some pages look like picture books. Some pages look more like an illustrated middle grade novel. While other pages look like comics. But the books are also designed to be read aloud, with the text forming the spine of the narrative. And there are clues and little Easter eggs in the illustrations for kids paying close attention.

Real Pigeons Fight Crime is the first book in the series. It will be followed by Real Pigeons Eat Danger (out in the US on May 5 2020) and Real Pigeons Nest Hard (later in 2020).


You can pre-order Real Pigeons Fight Crime at:

Scroll to Top